GM Diet (General Motors Diet)

All you can eat!

In college, it was called Freshman 15, it might be known to you as Freshman Spread. It was something I was able to avoid though.

However, three years ago when I arrived in Kuwait I got hooked on it. I personally call it Kuwait 8.8

That’s the exact weight gain I have been carrying around since I got here in Kuwait. I have tried several diets: portion control, vegetarian, the 1300 calorie diet. All of them were successes for a limited number of time. Whenever work became too demanding, I fell back to my old practices. Emotional and Social Eating.

It does not help as well that Kuwait hosts a variety of restaurants of varying cusines that is just so hard for me to resist being the adventurous eater that I am. So, during one of those social lunches I never say “no” to, one of my friends discussed the GM diet. After three days of reading from the net, I decided to give it a try.

I’ll be on my first day today and it should go like this:

  • Abstain from all alcohol — Quite easy to do here in Kuwait
  • Drink 10 Glasses of Water

Day One: Fruit day! I am allowed to eat all the fruit I want except bananas (and there’s a good reason for it so keep posted!) Melons are highly recommended and if I end up eating just melons, chances that I’d lose about 3 lbs on the first day is very high.

Okay.. this diet looks promising so far. I’m a fruit fan. I did once a two-week diet where I ate just fruits– and it worked wonders, though of course, it was temporary. I had to go back eating other stuff too, you know.

So, last night. I went up the local Jamiya (that’s how Cooperative stores/Groceries are called in Kuwait). I bought a big water melon, a melon and a box of plums. I’m set for the day.

Wish me luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment